Indiana’s Premier Science Festival

Steering Committee

Celebrate Science Indiana is a fun, free, family event for Indiana. Celebrate Science Indiana will offer many interactive opportunities for individuals with an interest in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) to learn more about how these areas are being applied by business and industry throughout Indiana and why it is important for students to consider pursuing a career in one of these disciplines. This event is the culmination of hard work by an organizing committee whose members are currently working in or are in some way involved with a STEM discipline.

Members of the Celebrate Science Indiana organizing committee are:

Member Role Affiliation
Robert Yost Executive Director, Celebrate Science Indiana IUPUI
Adrianna Pitrelli Celebrate Science Indiana Partner WFYI
Glen Cook Not-for-profit groups Executive Director SEFI
Larry Sernyk Operations / Website content / Surveys Dow AgroSciences (retired)
Kerrm Yau Volunteer coordinator / Exhibit safety Dow AgroSciences
Joe Schwer Operations / Signage Dow Agro Sciences (retired)
Mary Pat Knadler Community Outreach and Finance Committee Eli Lilly
Ayanna Jackson Diversity Networking Dow AgroSciences
Keith Anliker University student clubs and organizations IUPUI Chemistry
Linda Osborn American Chemical Society outreach HRG Labs
Tom Turpin University student clubs and organizations Purdue University
Nelson Shaffer Natural Resource / Environmental Organizations / Agencies Indiana University / Indiana Academy of Science
Rick Crosslin K-12 educational outreach MSD Wayne Township School
Kim Vogt Grants / New Exhibitors Marian University
Denise Lynn Slayback-Barry Diversity Networking IUPUI
Joan Himebrook Sponsor/Exhibitor Recruiting St Vincent Health System
Peggy Fisherkeller Museums and STEM engaged institutions / Exhibit safety Indiana State Museum
Walter Jessen Website / Social Media Covance
Sonny Kirkley National Government Agencies CEO, Wisdom Tools
Tameka McNair Volunteer Recruitment MISO Energy
Mike Smith Decorator National Expo


We are excited to have a number of collaborative groups involved with the Celebrate Science Indiana. These groups and their representatives are:

Member Role Affiliation
Jaime Hubbard Girl Scouts engagement Girl Scouts of Central Indiana
Patrick Covell Boy Scouts engagement BSA Crossroads of America Council


Celebrate Science Indiana

Get the inside scoop on Celebrate Science Indiana

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive updates on
Celebrate Science Indiana and STEM education in Indiana.

We're also on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and LinkedIn.